New 2014 Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2013, 07:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4 Liter
Default New 2014 Cherokee

Just a few quick bon-fides so you won't think I'm a total noob.

1982 Wagoneer - 1978 J10 - 1989 Wagoneer -1996 Grand Cherokee Laredo, Borla Cat back, K&N Cold Air - 1993 Cherokee - 1992 Cherokee 2X4 - 1989 Cherokee Laredo with 200,000+ miles 2 inch lift, 30.5 X 15 BFGoodrich TA, Gibson cat back, high flow cat, K&N Cold Air & a death wobble that at some speeds you should remember to wear you paper underwear.

All but the 1992 & the 1998 XJs in the happy hunting ground.

Now thats out of the way...I understand any indifference about the new Cherokee. The pictures make them look a little "girly". Much better in person!!! Find one and drive it. It's like setting in your living room with the TV off at 80 miles per hour. Silent!

I drive the 89 200 to 600 miles per week on the job & it's my only car. (the 92 is being trashed by my son). Time for a new one.

Even though I've used this forum to do all sorts upgrades & repairs I've come to have a pretty high regard for many of those using.

I'd like to open a discussion to anyone with 2 pennies to rub together on the new Cherokee. Not that over sixty years of age I need a group consensus
on what to buy but there is a LOT of hands on, get dirty, been there kind of people I'd like to hear from.

Here are an example of questions I have.

If the classic Cherokee is code named the XJ, what do you call the new one?

With a brand new limited release of a new Jeep, is finding a dealer that will sell me one at $100 over his FWP (whatever the hell that is) as opposed to some figure above the MSRP a good thing or am I getting screwed?

Same dealer says any "extras" mud flaps, all weather floor mats... he'll charge me 10% above his cost.

Does anyone know if you can order "skid plates" for any model less that the Trailhawk?

I'm wide open to any number of opinions?