Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help buying first Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2018, 05:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Help buying first Cherokee

So its my first time looking at a jeep and i need help on what to do.
Its a 2000 cherokee with 193,000 but i know the 4.0 will still be reliable after that. The man selling it only used it in the winter and says that it has a bad cam sensor when i fired it up it missed and ran poorly but he said that was the only big problem it has. Can anyone experienced with buying these help me out? he was wanting 1200 but he said that he was willing to entertain offers

Old 10-29-2018, 06:06 PM

Received 122 Likes on 103 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

It looks like you are in the rust belt. If you were to cut off those rusted rocker panels right away, and weld new ones on, and take care of the rusty area around the rear window (and any other areas), it would probably look good for a decent amount of time.

I can't comment about the cam sensor as mine's different. But I've read it can be an issue, not too hard to resolve (if that's what it is). What's your use? IMO the 95-96 Grand Cherokees make better drivers. I like the ergonomics of the ZJ's the best of all the Jeeps. But this looks pretty good for being in the rust belt.
Old 10-29-2018, 06:32 PM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Year: 1999

Gotta tell you Jacob, be very cautious about this deal.