Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Zone 3" coil hate

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2014, 07:38 PM

Received 28 Likes on 23 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Zone 3" coil hate

So Ive been running Zones 3" coils and their nitro shocks for close to 2 years. Ever since theyve been on I have been disappointed in how stiff and harsh the ride was. I did the shackle relocation, got rid of AAL for a bastard pack that I tweaked a couple times to get right, added CADs and played with tire pressures. While all of these helped I was still never really satisfied. I could never really bring myself to put out the cash for higher end shocks as so many people recommend in fear that Id still feel dissatisfied and feel like I wasted money.

Recently I picked up some RE lift shackles to replace my OEM ones. While doing the job I realized the zone nitro shocks were toast and being low on non essential funds I searched around for budget alternatives and learned f150 shocks are a good length for my lift height and with a bushing swap they would fit. Never gave a thought that they would be worse than the Zones but boy was that a major oversight. They were so stiff it felt like getting kidney punched over harsh freeway bumps.

So after seeing how they felt and doing some thinking and researching I decided to do some more searching and see what was out there that would fit and from a vehicle closer to an XJs weight. I also wanted SOFT shocks being so sick of a harsh ride. I decided to buy the cheapest shocks I could find locally. Found s10 rears and YJ fronts would fit with some bushing swaps again and found a 30% off coupon for Advanced and picked up 4 Monroe Gas Matics for $60. Spent a few hours getting them modded and installed. Took her out for a 15 mile drive and......