Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Purchasing a cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2015, 10:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Purchasing a cherokee

Alright im a noob to 4x4s so be easy on me haha, so i just traded ky 1970 vw bug for a 1994 cherokee xj and im going to pick it up today, its got an eight inch lift, long arm suspension, coil overs in the rear, and a custom driveshaft, and 35 inch beadlock tires, an offroad machine, but i will be using as my daily just to drive about 15 mins every day, now when i pick it up i must drive it from mississippi back to Florida about 3 and a half hour drive, he says their may be a lot of vibration, if i stay around 35 40 mph with my emergency lights on home will i be ok (vibration wise)?Also once i get it home im going to put a slip yoke elimanator on it since he does not have one on currently, or i was going to do the hack method where no slip yoke is needed, my question is with either of those methods since the lift is at 8 inches will i need to buy a custom drive shaft or should the adjustable cv drive shaft they sell on rough country work?
Thanks in advance!
Old 12-12-2015, 10:36 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Most of us don't lift higher then 6 inches so we might not be much help,To know how long of a driveshaft you need you won't know tell you get under it with a tape measure.If you need one made try a local diesel shop most can make them.
Old 12-12-2015, 11:24 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0L Inline 6

With that much lift, you will probably be looking at a custom shaft. Only real way to tell is do the SYE and measure it out, or at least order the SYE and mock it up.

You might be able to shim the axle, thus rotating the rear diff up some and get away without the SYE. I'm at 6.5" on the front 7.5" on the rear without an SYE but I'm shimmed and it runs fine.