Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

hydrolocked my 2000 cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2019, 11:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 i6
Thumbs down hydrolocked my 2000 cherokee

Hello just wanna start off by saying i am new to the jeep scene and know pretty much nothing about the things. I recently bought a 2000 Cherokee sport and tried to use it as a submarine. ( it didn't work} it hydro locked in a puddle and filled the cab halfway up with water. I got pulled out removed the plugs cranked it forever. put the plugs back in and it started back up after 30 seconds of cranking. I still need to flush the oil and get more water out of it and will stay posted on that. Also, before it locked up all the lights radio and other appliances worked just fine but now none of them do and I don't know why.
If you have any advice on what else I should do that would be greatly appreciated. I'm am only 17 and this was my dd and now I have no way to get to school.
Old 05-12-2019, 11:24 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Check....all....your....fuses.
Old 05-12-2019, 12:41 PM
CF Veteran

Received 952 Likes on 767 Posts
Year: 1998 Classic (I'll get it running soon....) and 02 Grand
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Kevin Scurria
Hello just wanna start off by saying i am new to the jeep scene and know pretty much nothing about the things.
Good! First thing then, stop 'learning' from the guys you hang out with. Why do I say that? This: