Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Subs: Powered all in one vs. building custom box

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 11:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Subs: Powered all in one vs. building custom box

Alright my fellow jeepers, I need some advice and I hope some of you might have some experiences that you'd be able to share from as Im new to the speaker scene.

In summation, my Overall question is: is there a huge difference in the performance between the SO B8P-T and building a custom box with an 80$ range component sub? I found I can get the B8P-t for about 120$ so that was looking pretty good but I dont want to waste money on something that wont have much benefit. Are they equal in performance or should I go ahead and try to build something?

Background below:

I have a 88 xj 2 door. I just replaced front door speakers with Pioneer TS-A1375R (5-50 watt RMS) and the rear hatch ones with Rockford Fosgate Prime R152 (2-35 watt RMS). I have a Blaupunkt San Francisco 310 (22 watt RMS, 50 peak x 4channel, 4 channel preamp output) in coming in the mail.

Id like to add a bit of bass to the whole set up so I dont have to worry about breaking the component speakers (in theory). The two paths Im looking at right now are either buying a compact powered woofer or buying a decent component sub and building a custom box. I figured I can make either option fit in the spare tire (possibly sticking out a bit), as I dont want to lose much trunk space.

The powered sub is this http://www.crutchfield.com/p_777B8PT...nce-B-8PT.html It is an 8 in sub 120 watts RMS with 40-200 Hz.

The other option is would be buying a component sub (80$ price range) and bulding a circular (or hexagonal) box to fit within my spare tire in the trunk.

thanks as I am quite confused!
Old 01-20-2013, 12:27 AM
CF Veteran