Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stuck here in the middle . . .

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 10:52 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Stuck here in the middle . . .

Hey folks,

Quasi-newb here looking for some advice from my wise and venerable elders. Sadly, I lack the ability to simply ask a question without giving the whole backstory (for context purposes), but I'll try to keep that part brief.

The Past:
  • Bought my 2000 XJ about a year and a half ago.
  • Soon after purchase, the sag in the *** started to get on my nerves.
  • Bought new, OEM, standard duty leaf springs (because that's what the dude at quadratec told me to get and I'm a newb).
  • THEN decided, "I like it, but you know, a little lift might be nice."
  • Bought Rubicon Express 2" add-a-leaf kit.
  • wheeled it.
  • Then thought, "I like it, but you know, a little MORE lift might be nice."
The Present:
  • Just replaced front springs with 3.5 RE springs.
  • Added Rugged Ridge 2" extended shackle to rear leaf pack, which still contains RE added leaf.
  • I'm thinking the rear end still ain't quite even with the front. Would like to level it out (and if I end up with a little rake, that's cool too).
  • Shackle angle is not great currently, not 90, but not that far off either.
  • Thinking shackle relocation bracket will fix shackle angle and even out front and back.
  • BUT
  • I'm REALLY not liking the way the shackles are straightening out the leaf packs right now.
The Future: