Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Specific questions for ZJ disc brake upgrade on my XJ

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2017, 09:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Specific questions for ZJ disc brake upgrade on my XJ

First, yes, I have searched and read through many of the articles, how-to's, videos, etc on how to upgrade the drum brakes on my XJ in the rear to disc brakes from a ZJ. I understand the basic principles, and as a hobbyist mechanic, I feel comfortable enough tackling the job. Plus it's a good excuse to replace the rear diff fluid!

In any case, I just wanted to put this post out there to see if there are any specific things to consider for my swap. I have a '99 XJ and I'm not sure how to tell which rear-end I have. I just recently replaced the proportioning valve as I stripped some of the threads, but I didn't realize that I should be using the ZJ proportioning valve, so I ordered one for the XJ. Will it be ok just using the XJ one? Or should I replace the spring? Also I saw a video where someone was doing this swap on an '89 and had to shim the backing plates to put load on the axles. I didn't quite understand that, but wanted to know if that's something I had to do on mine? Also will I need to replace the wheel studs with longer ones? I saw a few people mention that, but if I need to I wasn't sure where to get the studs. Can I pull them from the ZJ? My local junkyard has like 11 ZJ's so I should be able to grab all the parts this weekend.

And if there are any other details to consider, or things to keep in mind, things you guys may have had trouble with or whatever, please post and let me know.

Thanks! This community has been great so far!!!
Old 01-12-2017, 01:33 PM
CF Veteran

Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0