Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

more power from a renix HO upgrades or stroker?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 06:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 Renix
Default more power from a renix HO upgrades or stroker?

Ok So i have an 88' limited, with a 4.0 and automatic transmission. I am not a mechanic, This jeep is the first vehicle I've ever "worked on" my self. I've done a very through tune up, following Crusier's tips. which has been an amazing help.

I am underwhelmed by the lack of power. I have attempted to boost the power by adding a bored out 60MM throttle body, upgraded fuel injectors, borla cat back, and a magna flow cat (I swapped in a test pipe for awhile but the drone was aggravating after 3 days), spectre through the cowl CAI.

My question Is Im debating if its better to attempt to swap in a HO intake and header, or to make it a stroker. My compression test was pretty consistent at 120psi across all the cylinders. it doesn't have a ton of miles on it 129k.

I am trying to find the best combination of power, reliability and hopefully retain MPG. Ive heard that strokers don't tend to last as long, but I've also heard that depends on how they are built. do you have to pull the block to stroke the motor? Also Im aware that the stroked motor will be significantly more powerful than the HO upgrades, but when you take into consideration, cost, and time, as well as wear and tear on the motor is it worth it?

any ideas?

Last edited by nicholas; 10-06-2015 at 10:08 PM.
Old 10-07-2015, 06:24 AM
CF Veteran

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Yes u would need to pull the engine to stroke it. But if u meant by stroking it as a cat, then u can leave it in the jeep. And start stroking the valve cover or the oil pan, whichever is your preference
Old 10-07-2015, 08:44 AM
::CF Moderator::