Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help needed for newbie

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 06:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Help needed for newbie

Hi everyone, I am really new to the Jeep Cherokee and was curious what sort of upgrades I can make to my 1995 Cherokee (4.0L). I am mainly looking to make it into a daily driver. Since it's my first one, I would like to start with inexpensive upgrades to add to performance and fuel economy without breaking the bank or getting too far in over my head. I do have experience working with engines in cars, just not jeep yet. any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Old 03-21-2013, 06:18 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Use the SEARCH button above and look for threads containing performance or fuel economy .
Old 03-21-2013, 07:34 PM

Year: 1999

Cold air intake and spark plugs is a good start, very easy as well
Old 03-22-2013, 02:43 PM

Originally Posted by bbojarzin
Cold air intake and spark plugs is a good start, very easy as well
Thanks, I was considering starting there with either an AEM or K&N intake, but as for plugs is there any brand that is better than others?

This is the list of upgrades I have gathered from various forums and sites over the internet, but I've heard both positive and negative responses and review on some:

Change/upgrade fuel filter
Throttle body spacer - have heard a LOT of criticisms about this one
Mustang fuel injectors?
upgrading radiator?
ignition coil upgrade

well, it's a start anyways
Old 03-22-2013, 02:50 PM
CF Veteran

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts

I didn't know they could upgrade the fuel filter
Old 03-22-2013, 03:05 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

There are two sock-style filters in the tank.

They can be replaced but there aren't any upgrades for them.
Old 03-22-2013, 03:07 PM
CF Veteran