Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Best MT tire for me and my XJ

Old 09-03-2016, 08:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Best MT tire for me and my XJ

I'm sure this post is all too common but I'm thinking individual regions dictate different recommendations. I'm totally new to off road tires. I have done some reading around and have a couple tires on my radar but still wanna ask the XJ dedicated crowd. So, as for my region, I'm in Northern Kentucky. I would be wheeling here and in the surrounding states. I'm looking for sound advice and recommendations from those most experienced with off road tires and selection. I'd rather not hear the recommendations of those who just pick a scary looking tire, I can screw that up myself. I'm only interested in the best performing, longest lasting, most reliable tire for my specific application. Ok, so I am going with 33's, my XJ isn't a dedicated DD so total achievable mileage doesn't have to dictate here completely. At the same time, I don't want a poor, noisy on road performer that I only squeeze 25K out of. I will typically be traveling 100 or more miles to wheeling locations around me so I guess I'll see 50/50 on/off road usage? I would say I am favoring off road capability over on road for sure. Let me know what you think, any other factors to consider that I haven't thought of, feel free to let me know. Thanks y'all!
Old 09-03-2016, 09:48 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

toyo mt and cooper discoverer stt pro a lot of people love them and they aint too extra like a super swamper is.Or a tight budget https://www.treadwright.com/ are recaps but some people love them.
Old 09-03-2016, 09:59 PM

Originally Posted by andrewmp6