Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New to the forum...with an idea for a Comanche.

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2013, 11:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New to the forum...with an idea for a Comanche.

Hello,

My name is John and I am a graphic designer from Dallas, TX. I am 32 and as I get older I appreciate what I have that fits me because I've always been a bigger guy.

My first car was a Karmanghia that sat in our driveway for 20 years, 6'2" doesn't fit very well in one, when I was 17 I got an 86 Camaro that was easier to fit in, but after a year it crapped out and I got a 1996 Jeep Cherokee.

To this day I still haven't sat in a car as comfortable as a Jeep Cherokee. I think part of it was I loved them since I saw the "ORV" in Goonies. And even to this day I love the 80's models.

We had two Jeep Cherokees in the family and it's still my favorite car to this day.

I am older now and I need one car that is just dependable, a crappy 2004 Buick, but it's highly dependable and gets great gas.

I'm single so for the past year I have been debating on restoring a car that I can just work on gradually for about a year. My original plan was to just buy a 2 door Jeep Cherokee 5 spd but I just could never land one when I had the money.

Last year I fell in MAD LOVE with a British car called a Morris Minor and loved the idea of doing a chop top. I never fall in love with British cars so this will happen eventually.

But I think I have decided to just restore a Comanche, with the 97-2001 front end. It will be a good work truck, with decent gas mileage, and the car that looks cooler than my Buick, a weekend driver if you will.

I am not mechanically savvy, so I need help. I plan on just replacing the engine and transmission to a modern engine that will power the truck, and get 20-30 street/hwy.