Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2 V8
Default Air Bags and offroad

Folks,

I am new to 4x4. my 1996ZJ "apparently" has airbags (like a match, you can only "test" it once!).

I had seen 3 sensors on the manual - one in the middle of the car, inside (believe is an accelerometer) and 2 behind the front bumper, one each side. Manual does not tell in detail - are these 2 accelerometers or some sort of "crash sensor", i.e., if they crush, will tell the airbag central control car has just crashed and to deploy bags?

Reason for my question - most of my use will be in paved road with regular traffic, including highway. If possible I want to keep the peace of mind in having airbags. But I will modify the front bumper - put a steel one (DIY), tougher than the stock bumper + fascia. So, if the sensors are "chush sensors", then it means I need to crash it harder but still has the airbag to work... if it is however accelerometers, probably does not matter - they will deploy if I manage to hit harder enough to achieve the same acceleration that the "standard design crash" would produce...

Another bit - what if I go to trail and hit small stuff? stuff that does not damage the car? I dont want booming airbags for any ordinary stick I break. A friend that has a Suzuki told me trail cars should have airbags disabled or they are deployed on the bumpy trail.

Thanks in advance...
Old 03-14-2016, 03:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 42 Likes on 31 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

I just always pulled the fuses in my old TJ & XJ whilst wheeling. Luckily, my '89 doesn't have them.
Old 03-14-2016, 07:32 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L HO