Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Advice on a new GC

Old 03-21-2014, 09:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Advice on a new GC

Hey guys,

Currently examining my options as to what 4x4 I should get, list of must haves are a big boot (Trunk? Lol!) moderate to good off road ability, plenty of equipment and the ability to sit on motorways with ease and comfort.
So far I've considered the Land cruiser (Prado), Discovery 4 and Subaru Forester, obviously the new Grand Cherokee is the reason I've landed here.

I don't plan on going too rough off road but certainly the ability to go off track is a distinct advantage for wild camping and getting up welsh mountains, I also work in construction so find myself driving on some nefarious terrain at work too.

Obviously the big seller in the UK is the LR4 but I understand this will be replaced soon and doesn't have the reliability, the Toyota looks a good option but the range is limited to say the least and to get the really good spec means out of my price range, lastly the Subaru is a great little car but is more geared for roads than tracks, has limited space and is a bit utilitarian inside.

So I'm off the try and find a GC to try out, preferably an "Overland" model as the spec on that looks amazing but tell me, are these things really as good and capable as people say? My current vehicle is a new Audi and the Germanic quality is awesome if not a little staid, can the GC really compete with its jap/euro rivals? My mind is totally open so any comments would be most welcome.

Sted in sunny (Not!) UK
Old 03-24-2014, 01:57 PM

Hmm, well, I guess no answers tells a story too!
Old 03-24-2014, 02:37 PM
CF Veteran

Received 297 Likes on 252 Posts
Year: '96

Things get kinda slow around here on the weekends. Give it some time. Meanwhile if you haven't already,try here also:

http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/index.php
Old 03-24-2014, 02:40 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts