Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Is 8" of ground clearance enough?

Old 06-29-2013, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 96"
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Is 8" of ground clearance enough?

My question is, is eight inches enough for moderate trail driving?

I'm an inexperienced offroad driver, I just put new heavey duty shocks and springs, on my 96" XJ country. Also an add leaf in the back. I went from about 6.8 inches to eight inches from the differential to the ground. New tires will come soon, so maybe they will add some height.

not trying t climb rocks or anything yet, but there are some trails in my area that look like some 4x4 required fun.
Old 06-29-2013, 11:50 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0

Should be enough for light trails to medium depending on how well you chose lines. I have about 11' from the bottom of the diff and i drag mine on a lot of stuff doing some moderate to hard trails. But our trails are pretty tight so theres only one line to take good or bad usually. If you think yout going to hit it just easy into it a soft hit is better than a hard hit. The housing seem to beable to tak abuse its the internals and covers you shoudl worry about
Old 06-29-2013, 11:58 AM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: l6 4.0

Differential to ground will only change with bigger tires. So lifting won't help that.
Old 06-29-2013, 12:32 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997

Originally Posted by joeschmoe13
My question is, is eight inches enough for moderate trail driving?

I'm an inexperienced offroad driver, I just put new heavey duty shocks and springs, on my 96" XJ country. Also an add leaf in the back. I went from about 6.8 inches to eight inches from the differential to the ground. New tires will come soon, so maybe they will add some height.

not trying t climb rocks or anything yet, but there are some trails in my area that look like some 4x4 required fun.