Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Noob going to look at wj tomorrow

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2013, 09:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Noob going to look at wj tomorrow

Hey guys noob here going to look at an 04 wj limited tomorrow morning. It's fully loaded 4.7 HO motor 107k miles. The pics I seen look good only thing I noticed was the jeep emblems were pealing. Anything specific I should pay attention to? Thanks. And it might be jumping the gun a little but if you want to start with 4" lift recommendations that's cool. If I get the deal I'm hoping for I'll be leaving with a wj and cash to order a lift when I get home (the truck I have now is worth more than the wj just need more room with a third little one on the way).
Old 10-12-2013, 12:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 03
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.7

Check for any oil leaks. PCV valve, last time it was changed. When the last tune up was. Trans fluid and filter change was. Also, if it's the Quadra trac, double check the u-joints, the double cardan u joint and the yoke. Look at the transfer case as well make sure it's not leaking.

Before you buy, take it on a test drive and take it to any auto shop. Most will do a free vehicle inspection for you. They check things like ball joints, tie rod ends, sway bar end links, boots, brakes.. a very basic inspection to let you know if you're getting ripped off.

If everything goes well and no problems are seen, change the oil to start with and new air filter and just drive it. Oh and double check your tire pressure. Good luck to ya.
Old 10-12-2013, 06:13 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L