Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

flushing trans question.

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2013, 12:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default flushing trans question.

Hey guys. Ive got a 97 zj 5.2 awd (4 hi-4lo) ive read a little about flushing the trans by running a hose from the outlet into a bucket and in from a different hose. My problem is i dont know which is which. I have to replace my trans cooler as well and filter too. So i want to.do it all in one shot. What's the best way to.find out whats the inket and whats the outlet? Is it as easy as taking off both rubber portions and turning the truck on? Also i was planning on gettin one of the couple gallon buckets to make it as easy as possible. What should i get? Im new to jeeps but ive replaced trans filters before on some older fords. Never done a full flush on my own though so any advice is welcome/needed. If ajyone knows of a write up with pictures thatd be greatly welcome as well. Thanks in advance for the help!
Old 02-22-2013, 12:48 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 95
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

If you wanted to follow the cooler lines from the trans the front cooler line is the out/hot, the rear line is the in/cold.
Old 02-22-2013, 02:25 AM

Awesome! Thank you. The trans cooler im going to is about 2xs the size of the stock one. Is that going to give me any issues in the cold weather? I wanna go bigger because im road tripping to the mountains this summer and with 3 people plus gear i dont wanna stress the trans too much in the heat. I will not be taking it offroad or anything though
Old 02-22-2013, 03:23 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L