Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Electrical problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2016, 05:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Talking Electrical problem

Hummmm, ok I have not dug into it yet but I have a smallish electrical problem... Can anyone give me a direction to look? The drivers side door is dead.... No power functions at all... Mirrors, door locks, or windows.... I am thinking a fuse is most likely but not sure. I just boight this beauty so I am still learning what is where on it.
Old 12-25-2016, 09:16 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)

Welcome to CF!

Check the wire bundle where it goes from the door to the body for broken wires inside the rubber boot. From the constant flexing, they can actually break inside the insulation.
Old 12-25-2016, 09:30 PM

Why thanks for the welcome Dave. I was really hoping I would not have to rip into that part of the door harness, since I do that at work so much. I was really wanting to hear there was a fuse to check. Lucky for me we have the de-pinning tool at work... Anyplace on the forum that has the wire diagram for our Jeeps or am I just being overly optimistic?
Old 12-26-2016, 05:37 AM
Old fart with a wrench

IDK what year you have, but check out pacificcoastmanuals.com for a complete year specific FSM, downloadable for $7.99+tax. 93mbs of compressed pdf files. THE best manual I've ever seen for jeeps!
Old 12-26-2016, 09:28 AM

2004 Grand...
Old 12-26-2016, 11:46 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Nice looking ride! Who's brushguard do you have on it? That may be exactly what I'm looking for.
2000 WJ cheap Laredo
Old 12-26-2016, 01:15 PM

The brush guard is a pure Jeep Unit... Came stock on the 03-04 Freedom Grand Cherokee. Same with the rims and nurf bars...