Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Diff or Rear Axle Compatibility

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 08:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 3.0L V6 Diesel
Default Diff or Rear Axle Compatibility

Hi again folks, newbie here with a pretty big issue I need to get around - hope you can help.

I have a 2008 Grand Cherokee (3.0 litre V6 Diesel, 4x4, auto trans) that recently started to 'groan' from the rear end when pulling away. The diff then runs real hot and the 'groan' reappear after I coast to a stop and pull away again.

The local shop had a look-see into the diff casing and found that the main bearings may have been misaligned (from new) as the wear has now gotten to the point the bearings are being rubbed and the spider gear shafts have lots of play

So I'm on the search for either a rebuilt diff or a complete axle - most people I talk to about this say a jy axle would be easier to achieve due to the various issues around aligning the gears/bearings/shims etc of a rebuilt diff.

Anyhow, being in the UK we don't exactly have many jy's to begin - certainly not where I'm located (middle of a Scottish forest on the banks of Loch Awe, middle of nowhereville) with nor do we have much in the way of junked 2008 vehicles to source from! So, can anyone advise which YEAR of vehicle the back axles are compatible with mine? Are there other MODELS that have the same axle even? OR does anyone have any other suggestions as to how I can resolve the problems?

Getting a bit desperate here

Very grateful for any replies...

Dave
Old 05-15-2014, 09:31 AM
CF Veteran

Received 226 Likes on 176 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 L