Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Check gauges light keeps coming on

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2018, 01:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Grand Cherokee (ZJ)
Engine: 5.2 V8
Default Check gauges light keeps coming on

Hi, I am new here and I am a broke college student with and awesome 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee ZJ with a V8 5.2 that I found for 3 grand. I only recently have been having a problem with it and I can't seem to fix it. The problem first occurred when I hit a large railroad track and it broke the idle pulley, keeping it from rotating, causing my belt to come off. I was able to replace the part and put the belt back and it began to run fine again. It wasn't until I drove for about 10 minutes when the check gauges light came on basically saying my coolant was overhearing. I parked my car and steam was coming out of the left side of the radiator if you are looking at it. The engine is fine and wasn't steaming or smoking, but I figured the radiator could be cracked or damages. I then bought Bars liquid aluminum and poured it in my radiator cap hoping it would fill any cracks or leaks and this did help, but the light still comes on after a while, but doesn't steam as much as before. I have watched a lot of videos and I have been trying to fix it myself because I don't want to pay a lot for a mechanic to fix it. Basically I am asking if any of you know how I can fix this problem on my own. Whether there could be a clog in my coolant system and maybe I have to clean it out, or maybe I just need a new radiator? I am not sure, so I'm hoping someone can help me out here. Also a new problem is that the heater isn't working anymore, just kind of blowing out cool air, probably has to do with the coolant/radiator problem.

Thanks!

Last edited by nrob19; 10-04-2018 at 08:12 AM. Reason: grammar and clarification