Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Trans,Clutch, or xfer case?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 02:43 PM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Trans,Clutch, or xfer case?

I am fairly new to Jeeps, and have not driven a Manual for a very long time. The manuals I did drive were never in need of repair or trans fluid while I had them (I wrecked them or got a different vehicle before getting into the trans) Anyway here is the situation, I just changed the oil yesterday, However today while I was driving I could hear almost like grinding, not a LOT of grinding just very faint and only when the trans was under load going faster than....45ish?

What are some simple ways to eliminate various problems so I don't spend a bunch of cash on the wrong diagnosis. are there any other ways to tell where the problem lies without tearing a bunch of stuff apart? (its my daily driver too)

Description of the sound... Well its sort of like taking 2 glasses and putting just a little bit of sand between the 2 and rotating them. Again, this only occurs at speeds at or above 40-45 and while accelerating. Maybe its something totaly unrelated?

Anyway I just dont want to end up on the side of the road with a clutch or worse, the trans!

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by NewXJaddict; 09-24-2009 at 03:57 PM.
Old 09-24-2009, 04:55 PM
CF Veteran

If this sound/symptom is too vague let me know. I will try to describe it better. Or if there is no real way to narrow it down without just trying different things let me know.

I have an apointment to get trans oil change tomorrow. Maybe Ill know more after that.

Any ideas or information is appriciated

1987 4.0 Not sure about what transmission it has. I think its the smaller one the ax 4/5? but not 100% sure

Last edited by NewXJaddict; 09-24-2009 at 04:58 PM.