no fuel power and noe fuel injectors pulse - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here!
XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ Tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

no fuel power and noe fuel injectors pulse

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2012, 01:19 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default no fuel power and noe fuel injectors pulse

i have an 88 cherokee with the 4.0, auto, lifted 6.5 inches and 36 swampers

i have no power to fuel pump and the fuel injectors. i ran a hot wire to the pump to test to make sure it is not bad, it works fine with the hot wire. if i pour gas in the intake the jeep will start up and then die. i have replaced the cps. i checked the relay , the relay is good.


my jeep has been down for over a month i really need my jeep i have been borrowing a friends truck to get back and forth to work sorry if i am posting in the wrong section i am new to forums


please if anyone has any ideas please let me know
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 01:25 PM   #2
CF Veteran
 
PNWjeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 1,178

View PNWjeeper's Photo Album My Photos
Default

when i got my first cherokee it was an 88, it had a similar problem. turns out the rubber that holds it in place had been disintegrated from the gas and clogged up the pump. so i had to replace the pump and fillter and ran a can of seafoam in the tank to help clear out any remaining gunk. it was a good thing i got it for free lol
PNWjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I can get the pump to come on by running a hot wire to it. And it puts out good pressurei will check that when I get home tho. Did it cause your pump to stop working. And the injectores to lose power
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:21 PM   #4
CF Veteran
 
PNWjeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 1,178

View PNWjeeper's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I dont think the injectors lost power because all I had to do was replace the pump and filter and I was up and running again
PNWjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 12:19 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
maximan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fullerton/Anaheim
Posts: 54

View maximan1's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Perhaps it's your fuel pump relay. I don't know if there's a fuse for the fuel system. Check your fuses and relays though, that's definitely worth a shot.
maximan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:27 AM   #6
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 33,703

View cruiser54's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshga171 View Post
I can get the pump to come on by running a hot wire to it. And it puts out good pressurei will check that when I get home tho. Did it cause your pump to stop working. And the injectores to lose power
Are you measuring the pressure?

See if you've got power to your terminal 30 on the fuel pump relay and power to terminal to terminal 87 with the key on.

And yo udo know the fuel pump relay is the second one back from the front?
cruiser54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:06 PM   #7
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I have power to the switch side but the prong 30 only has 2 volts
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 02:46 PM   #8
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 33,703

View cruiser54's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Should have battery voltage to terminal 30.
cruiser54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:38 PM   #9
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Does that power come staight from the battery or does it come from the computer cause the wire is orange not red
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 33,703

View cruiser54's Photo Album My Photos
Default

From fuse link G, which would be on the start relay. It is orange at the start relay turning red at C103, a flat 6 prong connector near the passenger side shock tower.
cruiser54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:16 PM   #11
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default

K so ifollowed the wire from the relay to the next junction. One wire goes to the start relay one to the 6 prong plug and 2 into the wiring harnes.

The 6 prong plug it goes In solid oragne nd cones out orange with a black strip

The 2 that go into the harnes go into the cab of the jeep neer the computer.
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:57 PM   #12
Member
Thread Starter
 
joshga171's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Covington Ha
Posts: 131

View joshga171's Photo Album My Photos
Default

The 2 orange. Ones that go in the wiring harnes. Go to the computer.

Where does the on that goes through the 6 prng plug go.

Another ? Does the power come from the first relay
joshga171 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:16 PM   #13
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 33,703

View cruiser54's Photo Album My Photos
Default

One goes to the fuel pump relay # 30. One goes to the ECU. One goes to the TCU. One goes to the diagnostic connector. I suggest you work from the # 30 connector back toward the start relay.
cruiser54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:36 PM   #14
CF Veteran
 
DFlintstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nor-Cal Coast
Posts: 9,992

View DFlintstone's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I guess there are a number of fused links there off the starter relay, and that one, "G" powers the fuel pump, and more....?
DFlintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:45 PM   #15
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 33,703

View cruiser54's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFlintstone View Post
I guess there are a number of fused links there off the starter relay, and that one, "G" powers the fuel pump, and more....?
Yes. That's why the wire from #30 on the fuel pump relay needs to be traced back to it's source and checked along the way for voltage.
cruiser54 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle and stalling issue Tcq192 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 7 10-23-2015 09:25 AM
Power window problems... Bookspans OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 2 09-06-2015 10:25 AM
Please Help, Fuel Problems... I think Ella15 Cherokee Chat 0 09-04-2015 05:18 PM
idk anymore please help Jicki Rough OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 1 09-02-2015 09:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send