Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New to Jeeps, a couple of Tech questions...

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2010, 10:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default New to Jeeps, a couple of Tech questions...

Hey there, hope I could gain some insight on a few issues with my Jeep. I am new to the Jeep world so I apologize for any questions. If it helps I did do a search first.

Truck: 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport, 4.0L, 110k miles.

1.) My front door speakers were not working (standard 4 speaker system with no amp). I did a search and found that the splice in the door grommet breaks. So I made 2 harnesses about 18" in length. I cut the speaker connectors and spliced them into my harness. I ran the harness through the grommet into the passenger compartment. I then used scotch lock connectors and tapped into the speaker +/-. This solved the drivers speaker, works but sounds like crap. The passengers speaker does nothing. I measure about 5v at the speaker+ and drops to nothing when the radio is shut off. Between the two scotch lock connectors I measure 30 ohms. Does this indicate the speaker is blown?

2.) This Jeep has a history of rusty coolant. About 10k miles ago the water pump and thermostat were replaced because they rusted out. Every now and again the heater core will clog up and I will need to back flush it to clear. I also drain and flush the coolant and fill with fresh 50/50 mix. The last time I also added some cooling system protector/cleaner (Kool from Gunk I believe). Its been good so far, but its only been a couple hundred miles. Is this a common issue? Should I replace the radiator and heater core? Am I correct to assume the rust is from the iron block?