Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Misinformation is a PROBLEM

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 10:33 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Misinformation is a PROBLEM

Alright, look, I'm no expert, but I continually see a LOT of misinformation on this site, in the OEM Tech and Advanced Tech forums specifically.

I'm not trying to be rude, but if you don't know what you're talking about, you shouldn't chime in. You could cost someone a lot of money or cause them more problems by telling them the wrong thing.

I have seen SO MANY people respond to "car won't start" threads with advice that's COMPLETELY off base.

For example, the OP will say "lights and everything come on but the starter doesn't even make a click", and some people chime in with "check all of your grounds and connections and test the battery and alternator" without citing the OBVIOUS answer: Test the starter. Or even more simple than that, just test the battery.

I'm tired of reading advice telling people to do all of this work to test a simple problem.

Diagnosing no-start, no-crank, no-power, or no-fire issues DO NOT require a full inspection of every wire and or ground on the vehicle.

There are VERY simple steps to checking these things, but people still feel the need to recommend a bunch of complicated, pointless steps before even trying the simple stuff.

So I'm just asking nicely, those of you who like to throw suggestions against the wall and see what sticks, PLEASE exercise some restraint and consider that you could be sending someone down the wrong trail, costing them valuable time and money.
Old 02-17-2012, 10:34 AM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0 HO

Check your NSS.
Old 02-17-2012, 10:41 AM

Originally Posted by sthon
Check your NSS.