Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

inline check valve vs. entire pump ***. replacement

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2011, 07:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Fuel pressure drop off fix !?!

Ok I did a little searching about this and still was unsure so I figured I would ask. And my apologies if this was already addressed and I missed it.
I have a 98 4.0L with the famous fuel pressure drop off. After sitting you have to prime the lines with anywhere from 2-3 key cycles, obviously a sticking check valve. Common amongst Cherokees and other similar vehicles. I was thinking I had to replace the pump assembly like I used to do often back in the day when I was a Ford line tech.
So, I read on here that the cheap alternative was to install an inline 1 way check valve for about $15 and a few minutes of labor. Sounded great to me until I read that it did not work on the newer cherokees after 98-99. IS this true? Why not, what is the difference and will this fix work on my 98? Just wanted to check before I put the check valve in. If any of you guys could clarify this for me I would greatly appreciate it.
Its quite possible I missed it when I was reading the thread but I didnt understand why it would not work on mine.

Last edited by Vakis; 05-04-2011 at 08:25 AM.
Old 05-04-2011, 08:29 AM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

The regulator/check valve is a replaceable item. You do not need to replace the entire pump assembly.
Old 05-04-2011, 08:39 AM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

The check valve fix will not work on your 98, where the fuel system has no return line.

Some have had success with using the check valve on earlier (95 and earlier where you have a fuel pressure regulator under the hood and a return line), but don't try it on your 98.