Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

high voltage

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2013, 09:05 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default high voltage

my dash says i am running around 18volts,what could casue that? or coudl if be a faulty dah gauge......if it is at 18 is that super bad? ha yea im a newbie.
Old 02-25-2013, 09:16 AM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

Verify actual voltage with a multi meter.

Factory gauges are known to be less than accurate...
Old 02-25-2013, 09:18 AM

lets hope so!
lol
Old 02-25-2013, 09:26 AM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

If you were pushing 18v through the system you'd probably know it.

Your battery would boil over, wires would probably smoke, lights would look awfully bright, etc...it wouldn't just be a gauge reading funny. There would be other symptoms.
Old 02-25-2013, 04:38 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1990
Engine: Inline Six

Yeah, I just had a issue with high voltage. Go over to the battery and check what the voltage is. When I checked mine it was around 16.5 volts. I noticed that my aux fan rpm was much higher and a higher pitch noise. Along with this, my head lights were very bright. If this is the case for you it sounds like your voltage regulator is dying. If you have a pre 91 XJ the regulator will be inside the alternator otherwise its external. I have a 90 XJ so I had to get a new alternator. BUT it could also be your gauge. I am having problems with my voltage gauge reading too low. I'm most likely going to rip it out and put an after market one in its place.
Old 02-25-2013, 05:15 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Legocar