Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Headlights won't go off

Old 01-16-2019, 03:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6
Default Headlights won't go off

I'm still pretty new to Jeeps, so bear with me...

My headlights began to randomly turn off... I replaced the switch and lamps... Unfortunately, when I swapped the switch, three wires were melted... Not good... I'm assuming bad ground somewhere, bad fuse, or a relay has gone **** up... I'm going to be completely replacing the headlight harness(rather than chase a ghost in it and for safety reasons)...

Since replacing the headlight switch, my headlights absolutely will not go off... It is NOT the "light delay"... It literally happened right after I replaced the light switch... New switch in, lights come on and stay on. All. The. Time. Since I'm between paydays, I've been simply disconnecting the battery until I can replace the harness and whatever else might be the issue... That said, suggestions on what could cause this new symptom? I was thinking maybe the daylight relay thing(? I'm sure I butchered what it is called), but can't seem to find it on my jeep... I checked by/under the coolant res and no luck... I could just be missing it?

Just about everything I've found concerning this issue is on much 'newer' Jeeps...

Suggestions?
Old 01-16-2019, 06:14 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts