Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

getting ready to buy an old cherokee, need help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2011, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default getting ready to buy an old cherokee, need help!!!

hey everybody, im new to cherokees, and im getting ready to get my hands on a 1993 jeep cherokee. ive been told ahead of time that it has new tires, the power windows have been repaired and the engine is running good, but it is leaking transmission fluid.

obviously, my main concern is the tranny leak. where are the common leak points for transmissions on these cherokees? it isnt a wheeling rig, it is a 4x4 thats been used more for hauling soccer kids than hitting the trail, so it should be in decent shape.

im hoping that the tranny pan is where its leaking from, but what if its the seal where it mounts to the motor, or a hose or something like that? i will be getting this cherokee for 500 bucks if i make the deal. is this worth it if it has a tranny fluid leak?

any help with this would be really appreciated, have a good day and a great labor day weekend everyone!
Old 09-01-2011, 11:56 AM

i have a '00 and it was a daily driver as well. Pan gasket leak.
Old 09-01-2011, 12:12 PM

awesome. thanks for the tip. if it is the pan gasket, that would be a dream being that its an easy fix. any other common leak points that youve heard of?
Old 09-01-2011, 12:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0 L

Howdy and welcome to fun world of jeep!

ok, being new and all, what is your threshold of pain when it comes to working on these vehicles? if you are concerned that you will have dirt under your fingernails still after 3 days of washing them, then you might wanna have someone else do the following; (otherwise, come along and enjoy the fruit!)....