Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2000 XJ starting and steering problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2012, 03:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I6
Default 2000 XJ starting and steering problems

I believe my steering problem consists of what you guys refer to as "death wobble", it starts wobbling pretty good around 45 mph but cleans up as I speed up? Any troubleshooting help would be appreciated here, I'm a newbie.

Secondly, when I start my jeep after a extended cool down period it is very strained to start, im sure it's not the starter, battery or alternator. A friend said it could be the computer or a mis firing cylinder. Any experience or help is appreciated. Thanks.
Old 06-12-2012, 04:05 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0 HO Straight Six

https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f51/di...-wobble-55021/

Read through this so you have an idea of what death wobble is. This link also has all the components listed that can contribute to death wobble.

As for your starting problem, how does it crank? Nice and slow? Or does it crank fast and just doesn't catch? Could be a problem with your battery, alternator or starter. Also could be tune-up related. Also could be a problem with the crank position sensor. NEED MORE INFO!
Old 06-12-2012, 04:53 PM

It cranks fast. I only say it isn't the starter, battery or alternator because after it doesn't the first time the second start is completely normal.
Old 06-12-2012, 04:55 PM

Engine: 4.0

if it clears up by changing speed, I would lean towards out of balance tires or bent rim. Rotate the fronts to the back and backs up front and see if it changes any of the characteristics
Old 06-12-2012, 05:39 PM
CF Veteran