Go Back  Jeep Cherokee Forum > Technical Discussion > Aftermarket electrical systems
Adding relays to the blower motor circuit, did i get this right? >

Adding relays to the blower motor circuit, did i get this right?

Aftermarket electrical systems Aftermarket electronics only! stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Adding relays to the blower motor circuit, did i get this right?

Old 01-25-2017, 01:31 PM
  #1  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 1,024
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Adding relays to the blower motor circuit, did i get this right?

I've just replaced my blower motor and my plug at the blower switch has minor burns in the plastic which i replaced with a switch from the junkyard.

even though the blower is new, I'd like to give a try to the relays fix that i read about. at best i'll avoid a fire, and at the worst i'll have less space under the kick panel!

My understand of eletric systems is somewhat limited, so i want to make sure i wire this correctly to avoid any issue. I'm planning on wiring only the 2 highest settings, so High and Medium 2.

I made the following diagram based on the blower motor circuit, and i'd like to know if what I did makes any sense. Thank you!

(i only included 2 poles to on red relays on the right diagram, but i'm aware of the ground and power needed for it to work, just in case you wanted to point that out)

Cane is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 07:13 AM
  #2  
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lost in the wilds of Virginia
Posts: 4,527
Year: 1998 Classic (I'll get it running soon....) and 96 (just purchased) and 02 Grand
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default

Originally Posted by Cane View Post
(i only included 2 poles to on red relays on the right diagram, but i'm aware of the ground and power needed for it to work, just in case you wanted to point that out)
I don't trust any diagram that's not complete, so I can't say this is correct. You are relying on assumptions, and that's a good way to get in trouble.
BlueRidgeMark is offline  
Old 02-01-2017, 08:11 AM
  #3  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 1,024
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default

Originally Posted by BlueRidgeMark View Post
I don't trust any diagram that's not complete, so I can't say this is correct. You are relying on assumptions, and that's a good way to get in trouble.
take the relay diagram i made on the left and imagine it's in place of the red rectangles, that's what i meant. the picture was too small for me to fit all the poles in there.

here's what i mean, i find it more confusing but now it's all there


Last edited by Cane; 02-01-2017 at 08:20 AM.
Cane is offline  
Old 02-07-2017, 07:03 AM
  #4  
::CF Moderator::
 
cruiser54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Prescott, Az
Posts: 37,741
Year: 1990
Model: Comanche
Engine: 4.0
Default

If it's a 90 or earlier, just upgrade the ground.
cruiser54 is offline  
Old 02-21-2017, 01:26 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 799
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 6 cylinder
Default

What curiser54 said.

I see what you're trying to do, buy why? Unnecessary IMO.
I would just replace with a new switch and call it a day.

The slightly burnt looking original switch could be from the old defective blower motor or plain old age.
moparado is offline  
Old 02-21-2017, 02:04 PM
  #6  
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 1,024
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default

Originally Posted by moparado View Post
What curiser54 said.

I see what you're trying to do, buy why? Unnecessary IMO.
I would just replace with a new switch and call it a day.

The slightly burnt looking original switch could be from the old defective blower motor or plain old age.
"What curiser54 said." i don't even have a 90 or earlier so it's useless.

If you really see what i'm trying to do you would understand why.. i want to prevent any issue that might come up from the stock wiring. same goes for the headlight switch. most XJs probably go through their life without any real issue, but having my headlight switch melt and smoke coming from my dash is something that scared me (because it did happen).

I live in a place where we park in an interior garage and a car fire is that last thing i want to happen. i checked my blower switch and it's as bad as the previous headlight switch that melted. There's a lot of speculation about whether it's useful or not, at least this way the current will flow directly from the battery, which cannot hurt so other than wasting my time.

For anyone interested, I ended up testing the diagram above and it worked fine, i need to clean everything up so there's no wires hanging but now the current doesn't go through the switch.

Last edited by Cane; 02-21-2017 at 02:09 PM.
Cane is offline  
Old 02-22-2017, 06:48 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 799
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 6 cylinder
Default

Well i'm glad it all worked out ok.

If that concerned though, you could of just as easily added an inline fuse in series with wiper terminal of the blower switch. With an ammeter measure the max current draw from each switch position and choose a slow blow fuse amp rating accordingly with maybe a +20% safety factor.
moparado is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: