Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

running all new speaker wire?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2015, 09:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default running all new speaker wire?

Hello CherokeeForum,

I picked up an XJ not too long ago, and it only came with speakers in the front doors. I am not new to car audio, but I am new to this chassis.

I am planning on doing a budget audio setup and I am going to start by replacing all 4 speakers and adding an amp to them. How difficult is running new speaker wire through all the front doors and to the rear sound bar?

I assume I will have to drop the headliner to get to the soundbar wiring? I already went ahead and ordered 40ft of 12GA OFC wiring (might be a little overkill for now, but I want to do this just once).

Any tips or anything I should look out for?

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-04-2015, 06:54 AM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

I would look on line for a factory harness that has everything you need including the amp hookups and rear speaker bar.
Old 02-04-2015, 07:16 AM
CF Veteran

Received 229 Likes on 178 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 L

It's not hard and would be a great audio project. I would mount the amp under the passenger seat or rear bench seat.
Old 02-04-2015, 07:42 AM

Originally Posted by Fred/N0AZZ
I would look on line for a factory harness that has everything you need including the amp hookups and rear speaker bar.
Originally Posted by XJlimitedx99
It's not hard and would be a great audio project. I would mount the amp under the passenger seat or rear bench seat.
thanks guys!

I am planning on putting the amp under the passenger seat, but I'm afraid it may get wet. Looking into the rear seat but I think it may get too hot there. I just want it out of sight from prying eyes
Old 02-04-2015, 07:44 AM

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts