Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noobie question about lifts

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2014, 01:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Noobie question about lifts

Before you read and criticize - YES I am new to the lifted aspect of a a Jeep Cherokee. I don't know a lot when it comes to lift kits and such..
I am planning on lifting my cherokee within the near future and I have few questions.
What lift would you recommend for;
1) Will still be my DD (Little to no offroad)
2) Max height of 3" of lift

I was looking at Iron rock offroad, and the price seems pretty damn good for everything in their kit. but is there anything else that I need to buy that isn't mentioned in the kit? Pretty much what I'm asking is what is every component to make this lift installation pretty much complete. http://www.ironrockoffroad.com/Merch...t_Code=IR-X3LK

Thanks...
Old 08-26-2014, 01:43 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you want friendly answers try. www.xjtalk.com they are pretty helpful
as far as a lift. and the prices.
i buy stuff on ebay.
front coils 3" $140
3" leaf packs $210
shocks $150
brake lines front and rear $60
drop pitman arm $28
TC drop. hardware store bolts and find spacers $5
The following users liked this post:
Pkizzy (04-03-2021)
Old 08-26-2014, 08:28 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Yeah hard to get friendly answers on this forum. You got a lot of guys who will just rip into you for not using the search function first. It's pretty annoying really.

Anyway you might want to consider getting a lift with full leaf packs instead of an add-a-leaf that kit comes with. Add-a-leafs a really poor choice as they ride hard and will only be as good as your existing leafs are.

Stay away from Rough Country as they ride really rough as well.