Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Jeep owner

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2024, 09:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Jeep owner

Hi guys, I’m new to the the jeep scene and just purchased my first XJ as a daily and I had some questions,

first of all I’m looking at purchasing a bds 3” lift kit
and some 31” tires I cannot go any larger in tire size as I cannot cut or trim anything it’s too clean of an xj (64k miles not a scratch/dent/scuff or rust on it anywhere) and I was wondering if anyone else on here has ran a bds kit I mostly see rough country lifts on here and I’d rather have something of more quality (I do not want to “budget build” this Jeep)

pictures of your lifted xj on 3” 31s would be appreciated as well
Old 03-10-2024, 09:57 AM

Received 78 Likes on 54 Posts

31s and 3" lift will definitely fit without any trimming. One recommendation I would have is go full leaf pack, never been a fan of add-a-leafs.

3-3.5" is also the territory where you start to run into issues with the stock track bar and steering.

New control arms should also be considered if you're going to be doing any wheeling.

I lied I did do some trimming on ot bottom front flairs.

Last edited by Kuro89; 03-10-2024 at 10:04 AM.
The following users liked this post:
Dovergreyxj (03-12-2024)
Old 03-10-2024, 01:07 PM
CF Veteran

Received 291 Likes on 240 Posts
Year: 1987 MJ, 1998 XJ, 1973 J2000, 89 waggy
Model: Comanche (MJ)
Engine: 4.0L H.O

As stated above. A full lift kit would be best, at 3" of lift you should easily be able to find a kit with new coils and new leafs. Replacement lower control arms shouldn't be overlooked at a minimum. Adjustable lowers with a flex joint would be a nice upgrade but as just a dd the fixed lowers will do just fine.