Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NEED HELP NEW TO MODIFYING CARS Suggestions, comments, whatever is welcome

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2014, 08:23 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

I'll be the first to jump in with "use the search feature" although I'll readily admit it sucks.

Do Google searches for "cherokeeforum XXXXXXXXX" where you replace the X's with whatever keywords you want to find.

Also, many of your questions can be answered by reading a handful of the build threads that are on this site. Just go to the build threads section in the main menu.

lastly, if you want, read my posts. I'm not an expert, and where I lack in knowledge other guys have me beat by a mile, but over 5 years I think I've answered a number of your questions already at least twice for other people.

The bottom line is that there are just so darn many possible things you can do to a Jeep, nobody here can give you definitive answers to most of what you want to know. We can share opinions, and maybe personal experiences with a comparatively small lsit of specific products, but man, the sky's the limit in what you can do.

General suggestions:

Mild to moderate off-roading? A 2" to 3" lift should be just fine. I have a 2" on mine and it will go plenty of places. Also, a 2" lift with spacers in front, new full leaf packs in the back, and new shocks is cheap, about $375-$400. Add coils in front instead of spacers and you go up about $100. Jump to a 3' lift and start considering things like slip yoke eliminator, extended brake lines, track bar concerns, and you can start spending money quickly. Lifting Jeeps comes with an exponential increase in costs for each inch you go up.