Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

lift info please

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2014, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default lift info please

First off sorry if this is posted in the wrong spot.

I am completely new to working on cars. I have a basic understanding of mechanics and tools so I have been doing a lot on my 88 xj as far as working on/fixing the engine and small things on the car. I am now interested in giving the thing a little lift and upgrading steering and eventually a lot of other things.

So... I know nothing about lifts, or anything else. Is there anywhere(other websites, books, articles, etc.) where I can start reading about how different parts of the car work and what parts are involved? I read the build forums and they look cool but all I read is with acronyms and technical words and it just looks like chinese. I hear words like shackles, long-arm, coils, blah blah blah. I want to learn about all this stuff but don't know where to start. Please help me learn this stuff.

Thanks.
Old 04-22-2014, 02:34 PM
Old School CF Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2001

Your in the right spot.

Just a bit of basic information here..then you can ask questions as needed.

Front suspension is composed of coil springs (surely you know what coil springs look like), the coils provide the height for the front of the vehicle. The shocks (located right next to the coils, dampen the ride for the front of the vehicle.