Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Mig welding tips

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2009, 12:41 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Mig welding tips

Im somewhat new to Mig welding, and would like to know what tips/pointers you guys might have. I have welded a few time before and know the basics, but would like to expand my knowledge and hopefully become a better fabricator, and build more things in the future.

Thanks,
Jeep450r
Old 10-07-2009, 07:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Best tip I can give is to get as much time as possible behind the hood. People can tell you tips and tricks all day long, but as you spend more time practicing, you'll learn and remember more than anyone could ever teach you. There are only a few ways to make good welds, and you'll learn them easier and better if you are doing it yourself.

Having said that, in almost all positions, I prefer to push rather than pull. Get in right close to your puddle. Get a good hood and a handful of replacement glass parts. Don't be afraid to stick your face right down in there. Play around a bit with whipping the wire back and forth. The main thing though is consistence in your travel speed and your whip (or no whip).
Old 10-07-2009, 08:08 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 87

Originally Posted by cjj98xj
Best tip I can give is to get as much time as possible behind the hood. People can tell you tips and tricks all day long, but as you spend more time practicing, you'll learn and remember more than anyone could ever teach you. There are only a few ways to make good welds, and you'll learn them easier and better if you are doing it yourself.