Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Beginning Fabrication. Roof Rack with tool box

Old 07-23-2012, 09:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Beginning Fabrication. Roof Rack with tool box

Hey guys, as the title suggests, I am new to this, so please bear with me. I am new to the forum, and well my wallet already hates me from the fabrication section alone...

I am starting with something simple and moving to a little more complex things. as of now I have a roof rack and front bumper in progress, with plans to add new rock sliders within the next few weeks.

My roof rack is a basic safari type rack, but I wanted to make it a little different and build a tool box into the cage of the roof rack for the rear 1.5 feet. The tubing is square 1 x1 with dimensions of 6.5' x 4' and the tool box will be made of 16 ga steel plate. Here is my progress so far

Beginning Fabrication. Roof Rack with tool box-2012-07-18_19-08-41_610.jpg
Beginning Fabrication. Roof Rack with tool box-2012-07-23_19-51-31_644.jpg

At the same time I am also working on a front bumper made of 1.5" OD x 1/8" think steel pipe. So far it looks like this...

Beginning Fabrication. Roof Rack with tool box-2012-07-20_20-21-07_78.jpg

These are whats been started thus far. My question for you all is what do you think of the tool box/ does anyone know of a great way to waterproof hinges?

And also with the bumper, if built and mounted properly can a tube bumper safely hold a winch?

Thanks in advance for any and all comments!
Old 07-23-2012, 11:31 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2

Originally Posted by Ghost100

And also with the bumper, if built and mounted properly can a tube bumper safely hold a winch?
yes Name:  tnt bumper.jpg
Views: 991
Size:  11.8 KB
Old 07-24-2012, 01:27 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1999