Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Panel light lower dash

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2014, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Panel light lower dash

Hello - I am new to Jeeps. I recently purchased a 1996 Grand Cherokee. There is a panel just above the ash tray, that looks like it has some door ajar indicators, and possibly some gear indications on it. There are two buttons on this panel. One says "Set" and the other "Select". I did not get an owners manual with the jeep. Nothing lights up on this panel. Would it be just a burnt out bulb? If so, how do I get at it? and what would I be setting or selecting? Thanks
Old 06-09-2014, 06:37 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

That's you Vehicle Information Center and is an electronic display. It should display day/date and time normally plus anything wrong like doors ajar, tail light out, coolant low, 4WD part time, etc. If it's out, you'll probably need another one.
Old 06-10-2014, 08:09 AM

OK, thank you.
Old 06-10-2014, 06:46 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Sorry, I didn't mean to be cynical, but most times it's either no power to it or it doesn't work. Most people either forget about it or get a JY part.

Welcome to CF! Is this your first jeep? No, wait. You already said that. Just to get you started, here's some codes you'll want to know.

XJ - Cherokee
ZJ - Grand Cherokee from '93 to '98
WJ - Grand Cherokee from '99 to '04
WK - Grand Cherokee '04 and up.