Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Oil leak? Please help

Old 08-30-2013, 04:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Oil leak? Please help

Hello everyone, this is my first time ever posting to an online vehicle related forum. I am hoping to get some help in finding out why my 2002 Grand Cherokee (4.0) is leaking oil. It has about 96k miles on it, automatic transmission, 2WD.

When I pulled into my garage after about a 10-15 mile trip into town and parked, I went back outside about 20 minutes later and noticed a small puddle of oil under the center of the jeep, closer to the front. I will include pictures below of where exactly the oil is dripping from. The puddle measures about 5 inches across. All my gauges are fine, but my oil dipstick indicated that I needed to add a bit. I am not terribly knowledgeable when it comes to vehicles, motors, etc. so any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Old 08-30-2013, 04:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1994 1993
Engine: 4.0

Hello and welcome to the forum. My first inclination is that your Jeep isn't leaking in the area you think it is. I have seen a number of times where the oil appears to be coming out of the spot you have high lighted but in reality it was coming from a leaky o-ring behind the oil filter adapter. I don't mean the rubber o-ring on the actual oil filter but the one between the engine block and the metal adapter the oil filter screws on to.