Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

electrical auido power problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 03:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default electrical auido power problems

i just put two 12'' subs and an 800 watt amp....my jeep keeps hesitiating to turn on i am wondering could my alternator be too small or is it the truck itself for example the starter
Old 03-27-2008, 03:32 PM

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Model: Cherokee

Im guessing your new system is drawing too much power from the batt while running causing the batt to be worn down hence the longer start. Im no expert on systems but look into (IIRC they are capacitors), a better battery (optima blue), and/or a better alt with better wiring.
Old 03-28-2008, 02:11 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 2003
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L, 63mm TB, FIPK, Gibson Exhaust

Originally Posted by Kyle Deidrick
Im guessing your new system is drawing too much power from the batt while running causing the batt to be worn down hence the longer start. Im no expert on systems but look into (IIRC they are capacitors), a better battery (optima blue), and/or a better alt with better wiring.
do not think you want a blue top optima, those are marine use batteries, a yellow top would be a good choice it is designed for deep cycling and still has plenty of CCA to start the heep on a cold day.

Even with a deep cycle battery you probably need to look at upgrading your altenator to a bigger unit or you will just slowly drain any battery you put in it.
Old 03-28-2008, 03:19 PM

Originally Posted by tsconver
do not think you want a blue top optima, those are marine use batteries, a yellow top would be a good choice it is designed for deep cycling and still has plenty of CCA to start the heep on a cold day.