Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Brake issues after caliper replacement

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2016, 09:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Brake issues after caliper replacement

I just bought a 2000 Grand Cherokee it has ABS. I am pretty new to doing all of this myself just as a heads up I may have missed something obvious. I have tried searching this forum and other to no avail.

Basically what is happening, when I purchased this jeep the PO told me that it needed a wheel bearing and he had already bought it, well it turns out he was wrong. The lugs were loose and I found this out when the wheel fell off on the way home, yeah fun. So with the rotor landing on the rim and being damaged I spent a few hours on the side of the road replacing the wheel bearing and installing the old rotor (no choice). Brakes were working just fine. I ordered new rotors calipers and pads (lines looked good and if I was doing one I was doing them all!)

So onto the issue brakes 100% before I started, BRAKE light on, ABS light on (was on from the start) I install and bleed all 4 never let the MC go dry.Done the standard 2 man way get solid clean fluid. Pedal is nice and stiff. Then I turn on the key and boom pedal just about hits the floor brakes maybe the last 1/4 of the pedal if that.

I have vacuum bled the system like mad, Put two large bottles of fluid through the system, nothing but clean clear brake fluid and no air. This is sadly my daily driver now so any ideas (I'm broke as a joke ATM so cheap solutions would be most immediately helpful.) Thanks for any insight.
Old 11-08-2016, 02:11 AM