Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

2002 Wj Shutting off while driving Wits end

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2016, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 2002 Wj Shutting off while driving Wits end

I was a mechanic for 20 years. I changed careers in 2000 so I know my stuff pretty well. My 87 year old neighbor was on his back under his 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0. Frustrated with the quick disconnects on the fuel filter so I stepped in to help. BTW, he is a purple heart veteran and an amazing guy. I changed the fuel filter, started the truck, and heard whining/squealing sound coming from what I thought was the fuel pump. Turns out it was a defective fuel filter making the noise. Who knew a fuel filter could make noise! Fuel pump from the dealer, napa fuel filter, and $250 later, I am back at square one. The problem is that the Jeep shuts off while driving. I got on the internet, did a bunch of research, saw all of the stuff about the PCM problems, figured it had to be the PCM. Changed the PCM, still have the problem. Embarrassing... Doing more research, wriggle test, checking grounds, new ASD relay. The PCM has never stored any codes. I know the crank sensor is a possibility. I am not sure what the sensor ohm range should be. I figured I could check the range against a new one if I go pick one up. It seems like the coil pack is all one unit instead of 3 separate coils. I assumed they would not fail as one. Now I am lost and out of money. Any expertise would be much appreciated by me and the owner. Thanks ahead of time.
Old 08-12-2016, 10:05 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter