Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

2001 WJ window regulator problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2014, 02:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2007
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 3.0 CRD
Default 2001 WJ window regulator problem

Hi, newbie here( go gentle, from across the pond, so go even more gentle got a 5 cylinder 3.1 td which is I believe correct me if I'm wrong, wasn't available in the States?? Have a power window problem drivers side front.-
Had the dreaded window slide down on its own problem, took door trim off to investigate, found that the plastic cable retaining block was broken, common problem I've read. Got an engineer friend to make an identical one in aluminium and fitted, cables fitted nicely and all good. Tried it but the motor wouldn't operate smoothly, makin noises. Took the three screws out exposing the cable routing spool, all chewed up, which is probably the reason why the cable block broke .
Can anyone offer advice as to the replacement of the spool. Is such available to buy anywhere ?Or is it a case of a new unit.
Thank you
Old 04-27-2014, 06:23 AM

Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L, 784 Injector Swap

You need a window regulator. That will come with all the good bits you need assembled together. Your aluminum block won't be needed though.

Ooh and ship me a diesel. I'd love that. I've got a 1.7 Mazda PN in a Mazda 121/Ford Festiva.

Cheers
Old 04-27-2014, 08:35 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Welcome to CF, Wanaron! No, the EPA decided we didn't need diesels. Not until this year, that is. WHY? Why do politicians do anything. There must be power or influence there somewhere.