Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

1995 G. Cherokee Limited

Old 04-14-2016, 06:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Unhappy 1995 G. Cherokee Limited

Hi! So, I'm here with a few questions about my Grand Cherokee.

The other day I went to start my car and it acted like it was going to start but just faded out. When I press on the gas it sounds like it's going to start but it doesn't. I'm not very good with cars at all, so any questions may sound crazy but i have a few.

I changed my fuel pump a few months back because i had to turn my key multiple times for my car to start and after i replaced my fuel pump it started right up. Could it not starting now be related to the same problem?
If my Idle air control is broken, does that make my jeep not start?

and check engine light has always showed up since i have gotten the car, but i never thought it was anything big.

Does anyone have similar problem or any advice? I do not feel like spending a ton of money without some input..... thank u.
Old 04-14-2016, 08:56 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Welcome to CF!

Okay, the first thing I suggest you do is buy a Haynes Auto Repair Manual. The reason I suggest this one is it's relatively inexpensive and covers the basics in plain language. You should also tell us what engine you have.