Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

'00 Grand Cherokee Transmission Fluid Level

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2018, 09:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '00 Grand Cherokee Transmission Fluid Level

This is a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0, automatic.

This is probably a bit dumb but I have no experience whatsoever with transmissions, this is the first car I have been servicing myself.

my trans started to slip when making turns as well as every once in a while when I first start it up.
When I check the transmission dipstick with the engine hot, in neutral, after shifting through all gears - the stick was bone dry.
I added Dex 6.
add Half quart. Dry.
add Half quart. Dry.
stopped slipping for a little bit on startup. still dry dipstick
add half quart. dry.
reads with a tiny bit of fluid on the bottom of the stick while in park, but way way below the cold-low mark. (in park, engine hot, shifted through gears)
add half quart. dry.

so now I am +2 quarts into it and still getting a bone dry dipstick while in neutral.

can the fluid level really be that low? with only a little bit of slip when i first start driving. I am nervous about overfilling it....

again this might be the most obvious thread posted, but I dont know so Im asking. thanks for any help.
Old 03-15-2018, 05:51 AM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L