Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

99 XJ Noob build

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2013, 12:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 99 XJ Noob build

Ok so I have a 1999 XJ, early year, unfortunatelly with a d35 in rear but otherwise a very good car. I am very new to working on jeep and so I figured I would start a thread to gain knowledge and advice as I go through my XJ build.

I will give you a quick run down of my situation, I always wanted a jeep for years and years and recently (actually 3 years ago) i finally bought my 99 XJ and I love it....intend on having it forever a now that I have a little spare change I wanted to put some money back into my car which has helped me get to work over the past 3 years. She gets oil changes every 3000-5000 miles with full synthetic and has been given every scheduled maintenance on time or early and has been babied mechanically...cosmetically..not so much...and she runs great overall besides a few small things.

I have an extremely slight knock I hear sometimes when she is cold however this has been going on and not gotten worse whatsoever over the last 50,000 miles so Im pretty unconcerned with that..more notably I rearended someone and hence have had my bumper removed and my front end straightened( already done last week) and my shocks are destroyed from pulling around a double axle trailer as well as the winsheild being destroyed from simply living in colorado. Oh yeah and it takes 2 trys to start her unless I prime it with the ignition key..also not a biggee for me.

So a few issues but overall a very sound car that I just love driving. So here is my current plan for which is by no means set in stone but will be acted upon fast..so if there is anything Im missing hopefully a pro sees this thread and chimes in with some advice...