Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 xj build

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2012, 11:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: inline 4.0
Default 98 xj build

so I am starting to do a good bit of work on my xj that i picked up over the summer. Might as well do a build thread to get some opinions and advice as I go.
just done some basic maintenance and repairs so far to get it in good shape

what has been done so far:
1) new water pump
2) spark plugs/wires
3) starter
4) trans fluid flush
5) new alternator
6) new brakes all around

thats about all I can do without proper tools/ and a garage as I'm a college student that lives in an apartment complex.
plan on putting a little lift on it today. Ill post some pics
Attached Thumbnails 98 xj build-iphone-084.jpg  

Last edited by armymanauston; 03-12-2012 at 12:09 AM.
Old 03-11-2012, 11:29 PM

Default little bit o lift

started on lifting it up a bit. the rear leafs were pretty much shot so I ordered some new ones form 1aauto, great place. also got an add a leaf kit from rough country and some 1 3/4" spacers for the coils.
Old 03-11-2012, 11:31 PM

setting up the add a leaf and doing the rear.
Attached Thumbnails 98 xj build-iphone-166.jpg   98 xj build-iphone-172.jpg  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:36 PM

new leafs and some before and afters. went from 29" to 34" from the ground to the fender. on a side note those shackles were a pain in the a$$ to get of the old leafs!
Attached Thumbnails 98 xj build-iphone-179.jpg   98 xj build-iphone-168.jpg   98 xj build-iphone-180.jpg  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:45 PM