Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Whining noise in engine--Help!

Old 06-03-2013, 08:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Whining noise in engine--Help!

Hi all,
I have a 2001 XJ, 4wd, 4.0, 185K miles.

There is a whine that I have noticed for a while that is coming from the engine. I have some experience with XJ's (this is my 3rd XJ). The whine varies with the RPMs of the engine, so it gets a higher pitch at higher RPMs. There is a whine even when the car is at a stop and running, so I know it is not a bad wheel bearing.

Now, aside from that whine, I had a high squeal from the AC (not the whining noise I mentioned above) when I turned the AC on and the squeal would go away after about 5 seconds. I read on here that if I tightened up the belt, that it would take away the squeal because the fan might be slipping when the AC kicks on. So, yesterday I tightened up the fan belt. The squeal is now gone, but the whine has gotten worse and it is making me worry. This is my DD and my only transportation for me and my little boy (single dad).

I can turn the wheel left and right and it doesn't affect the whine, so it's not the power steering, and the fluid level is good on the power steering.

I just changed the oil this weekend and it looks good.

That seems to leave a few things:
  1. water pump?
  2. AC compressor?
  3. alternator?
  4. Transmission????
It is hard to tell if it is coming from any of the above, although the AC compressor is noisy.
Is there any way to figure out where this is coming from? Should I take the belt off and spin the pulleys to see if they are tight?

I am guessing that this is some sort of a bearing issue, but I really could use some help.

Thanks to all for reading all this.
Old 06-03-2013, 08:58 AM