Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Where is the vacuum switch for my vents! ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2015, 08:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Where is the vacuum switch for my vents! ?

Only have air blowing out of the defrost vent on top of dash. Getting heat but nothing out of vents.

I keep looking for something that I think it should look like but I've never seen a picture of it, or even where to look in the cab or under the hood.

I just picked up a 90 Wagoneer Limited and trying to fix this, and a few other minor problems.

Also is it possible the cruise control is related to the vent issue I'm having. Researching on Google and saw someone on a forum say they are. Please help I'm new to XJs and come from the world of CJs
Old 01-05-2015, 08:53 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 Liter L6

If cruise doesn't work, then first place is to look for a vacuum leak. The old soup cans they used for vacuum reservoirs were bad to rust out where they are hard to see. Would check all vacuum lines for dry rot or cracks and be sure that is right first. Your vents will not change without vacuum as that is how the actuators work. Also, if you notice nothing under the hood, listen inside for any hissing sounds while it is running as the tubes to some of the controls for the blend doors are plastic and may break, though this is a less common problem.
Old 01-05-2015, 09:28 PM

Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0 L

I have this same issue. Interested to see if you figure it out.
Old 01-06-2015, 12:38 AM