Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Wheel track and wheel alignment

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2017, 05:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Wheel track and wheel alignment

Hey, everyone,

I have a question about wheel alignment and/or wheel track for my Cherokee XJ. My question is this: when doing an alignment, should the wheel track measurements be (for all intents and purposes) the same for the front and rear axles?

Here's what I've got:
1998 XJ Classic 4x4
4.0L, L6, four door
250,000 miles

Quick FYI, I have never worked on cars before. Aside from changing the oil in some of my previous cars, everything I'm doing to this Jeep is the first time I've done it to any vehicle. That said, I bought a Chilton's manual AND a 1998 factory service manual (pdf version from Pacific Coast Manuals) and recently replaced the following suspension/steering related items:
- All tie rod ends
- drag link
- Steering damper
- Shocks
- brakes & rotors

I then took it to a garage for an alignment. The mechanic advised that, even with the alignment, the steering may feel funny because the tires had worn unevenly because I had driven them for so long with crappy parts. He recommended new tires, even though the current tires have a decent amount of tread left. This sounded reasonable to me, but I didn't have enough money for new tires.